Throwback Thursdays: Bombay Tandoori & Banquet

I first came here years ago. To this day it’s one of my favorite AYCE Indian lunch buffets.

This is what I first wrote about it on Yelp in 2011.

Went there for the AYCE lunch buffet.

I absolutely loved my experience there.

As soon as my friend and I walked in, they were quick to seat us. They brought us water right away.

They brought garlic naan to us at the table. It was hot and fresh, and absolutely delicious.

I loved the samosas. It was the perfect consistency of warm and thick and crispiness on the outside. I tried both the meat and vegetarian dishes. The chicken tikka masala was delicious. I really enjoyed their goat curry too. It was absolutely scrumptious. Their paneer tikka masala was good too. The cheese in it was delicious. I also tried their spinach dish which was also really good.

Included in the buffet, which is only $13 by the way, is a drink. This drink can be champagne or anything. I got the mango lassi. It was delicious. It’s like a creamy mango smoothie.

Lastly, I got this donut type dessert (called gulab jamun- thanks Michael K!) soaked in a sugar syrup type of thing. It was warm and delicious. The donut itself was a sponge for this syrup and so when I took a bite, the inside and out was all delicious sweet goodness. It was a bad idea for me to eat this before the fresh fruit. But it was so good so I couldn’t care less.

I’m definitely going back there!

The place still has wonderful service. The food is still delicious. I now know, too, that the drinks are only included on weekends. On weekdays, however, it’s $10 for the buffet, but without the drink.

I also love their other desserts too. Their rice pudding and the mango puddings are both delicious. The rice pudding is amazing and sweet, but not too sweet. The mango pudding is a little tart, but actually goes pretty well with the rather creaminess of the rice pudding. I just had to get a whole plate just for their desserts.

I still recommend this place as highly as I did two years ago.

And now I’m craving curry…2013-12-11 12.45.55

Leave a comment